Rod Stewart is New Album Time Due Out May 7th

Rod Stewart will release a new album Time May 7th on Capitol Records, marking his first album of new material in almost 20 years. Stewart wrote and produced 11 of the album’s 12 cuts, while the iTunes deluxe edition – which you can pre-order starting today – will include three extra songs, one of which (“Legless”) is another Stewart original.

Rod Stewart: The Jeff Beck Group Could Have Played Woodstock

The album’s first single, “She Makes Me Happy,” will be released to radio and be available to download today as well. A second single, “Finest Woman,” will make its U.S. radio premiere on April 8th.

Below you can also check out a video preview of Time comprising portions of seven of the new songs, as well as behind-the-scenes footage shot during the making of the album.

Stewart has acknowledged losing his songwriting muse over the past 20 years, but rediscovered the spark while reviewing his life for his recent memoir: “Suddenly ideas for lyrics were piling up in my head,” he said in a statement. “Next thing I knew, I had a song called ‘It’s Over’ about divorce and separation. And now I was getting up in the middle of the night and scrambling for a pen to write things down, which has never happened to me. I finished seven or eight songs very quickly and I still wasn’t done and it became apparent that I would eventually have a whole album of material to record, which had never happened before.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment